top of page
  • Lainey Berlin

My First Week in Tuscany


Ciao from Italy! One week in and it still doesn’t seem real saying that.


After a days worth of traveling, some overweight luggage, and many (happy) tears later, I made it to my new home for the next three months, Castiglion Fiorentino. My favorite moments have been wandering the streets of this town, weaving in and out of each alley, peering through every restaurant and shop. Never before have I seen a more blue sky as it stretches over the moonlit hills of neighboring towns each night. It all feels like a dream.


Not only was my decision to study abroad a big leap out of my comfort zone, but my choice to do it without knowing anyone on the trip was incredibly bold. It wasn’t long before I was on the floor crying from laughing so hard with my new roommates, Vaughn and Sydney. I can already say this trip would not be the same without them. They both have been friends since freshman year of college, so coming into this situation was a bit intimidating for me. However, within less than a day they had me questioning why we haven’t been friends earlier. I am so ready for every adventure that lies before us, and I am forever grateful to have them by my side.


Since being here, we have had the opportunity to visit Arezzo and Florence. I find comfort in the city, so touring both places felt comfortable to me. With each new city I am left dumbfounded by the history and character that lies within each building. I am overwhelmed by the beautiful colors and outstanding architecture.


During my stay here in Italy, I am lucky enough to complete my major coursework. The courses include, Intercultural Communication, Rhetoric of Humor, Religious Communication, and Theories of Mediated Communication. Intercultural Communication has already taught me so much about different key factors that arise while being immersed in a new cultural. For example. how to manage anxiety that accompanies culture shock, how to ethically navigate through a new place, and how to find comfort within the chaos, to name a few. The Rhetoric of Humor class has been incredibly interesting simply because I am the funniest person I know (hehe). Never before had I been asked to define humor. After the first week of class my mind has already been opened to so many different concepts relating to humor that I am so fascinated by. I am beyond excited for all that I will learn through these courses.


As I reflect on my first week here in Italy, my mind can’t help but to think about all that is to come. My high expectations of this country have already been exceeded the first day, so I really don’t know what could be better. I am so thankful for this opportunity to travel, explore, and learn.


And that’s what happened Today in Tuscany! Arrivederci!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page