top of page
  • Lainey Berlin

Week Four

Updated: Mar 5, 2019

From the very first week I wondered when it was going to set in that I get the opportunity to live in a small Tuscan town for three months. One month in and as I’ve said before, it doesn’t seem real. Over the course of this past month I have had the chance to visit some of the most beautiful cities with the most remarkable churches, delicious food and inspiring art. I have met some of the greatest people and have shared memories that I’ll never forget. My first month in Italy ranks itself as one of the best months of my entire life, and for that I am grateful.


Following our extended Rome trip, my roommates and I flew across the English Channel and into the United Kingdom. What a refresher it was to communicate and navigate through the big city of London in English. From the moment we exited the tube station onto the busy streets, me heart felt content. I grew up loving the energy and excitement that lies within the city whether it be my home of Dallas or my all time favorite place, New York City. I find a strange comfort within the chaos that the city embraces. I love walking down the street, feeling so small in a place so large as you pass faces you’ll probably never encounter again. London instantly became my new muse. During our 36 hour visit, we managed to visit Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Tower of London, the London Bridge, Borough Market, and my personal favorite, the Tate Modern museum. As hard as I fell in love with London, I confidently believe that nothing compares to my temporary home in Italy.




This week was one of the most chill weeks we have had since being here, and if you know me, I love being chill. As the first term of the semester is starting to wrap up, final assignments are starting to make their way to the forefront of my mind. However, I am okay with this because this means organizing and getting my “stuff” together. On Wednesday we visited the town of Siena. Although it was a short visit, it has been one of my favorite trips thus far. We visited the Palazzo Pubblico, Siena Cathedral and the Basilica Cateriniana San Domenico. I was so fascinated by the 17 different districts in Siena and camaraderie that surrounds it. I loved how simple and welcoming Siena was and I can so see myself returning.





Considering we are officially 1/3 into the program, this week was expected to be “culture shock week,” a week were you encounter rejection, feelings of insecurity, doubt, and homesickness. Although I can’t deny that I did not feel any of these things throughout my time here in Italy, I can confidently say that I have not experienced these emotions to an extent that it has negatively effected my mentality and emotional stability. If anything, this week I found myself to grow more comfortable with my friends on this trip, as well as the town of Castiglion Fiorentino. As each day passes, I let go of any fear or insecurity I have about making mistakes or embarrassing myself, something I realize often holds me back from being myself and truly experiencing the moment. I have to constantly remind myself that my time here in Italy is limited so why waste a second? Of course I miss my family, my friends, my dog and my bed, but those people will be there for me when I return. So, for now, I will continue to absorb everything that Italy has to offer.




And that’s what happened Today in Tuscany! Ciao!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page