top of page
  • Lainey Berlin

Week 5: Carnevale

This past weekend my classmates and I had the opportunity to celebrate Carnevale at one of the largest festivals in Italy, right on the coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea in the city of Viarreggio. Having not celebrated Mardi Gras in the United States, I wasn’t sure what to expect at all, but as always, I was open to the experience.


Upon entering the festival, our eyes were greeted with vibrant colors and sparkly masks. People paraded down the streets in costumes while tossing confetti from balconies and storefronts. Our attention was immediately drawn to the the massive floats that lined the road, one in particular being the large representation of the U.S. President, Donald Trump. At first, I found the Trump float quite humorous considering it was probably the last thing I would have expected to be at a celebration like this. After catching a peek of the other floats down the road, it became clear to me that each individual float shared a powerful message. Whether it was the mother nature float or the float representing litter in the ocean, I began to understand the platform that Carnevale so generously provides for major topics to be shamelessly brought into light. My favorite float by far was the one of Frida Kahlo simply because of how much I admire her and her impact women and art.




Carnevale is celebrated as a way for Catholics to overindulge right before the Lenten season begins. Overindulgence takes form through eating, drinking, and partying, as well as laughter and humor. During this period, people put a pause on their normal lives and allow themselves to find humor in everyday things, including political leaders and their nation as a whole. By dressing up in absurd costumes and disguising themselves behind masks, this allows people to let go of their identity and become anyone or anything they want to be. As uncomfortable I get with dressing up in costumes, I see purpose and joy in this tradition. It was so fun to see families, friends, and couples, no matter the age, dressed up, walking around so joyfully.


As I said, I had no idea what to expect of Carnevale, but boy, was I pleasantly surprised! Although I passed on the crazy costumes or the purchasing of a mask, I had the best time observing and seeing how passionate everyone was about this festival. The floats alone were absolutely incredible, but walking down the coast at the end of the day was a dream come true. Being able to enjoy the simplicity of a sunset over the sea in one direction, while being able to turn my head around to the most chaotic and humorous celebration with the most beautiful hills behind, it didn’t seem real. I will remember this day forever.



And, as always, that’s what happened Today in Tuscany! Ciao!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page